They are NOT as Innocent as they Look – How to get dog urine out of your carpet!

I love my dogs, Chloe Marie and Benny Chris, like they are humans.  I think they must be the most spoiled dogs on this planet.  They have priority seating in the living room, are pampered and loved by all of us constantly, get the most relaxing spa baths at the doggie salon, and pretty much “run” our household!  But, don’t let these little stinkers fool you.  They are not as innocent as they look.  With the frigid temperatures outside, we have been very cautious about letting them outside to go potty for long periods of time.  In fact, they have pretty much gone out for 30 seconds at a time to do their business and then come right back in.  My dogs are fully potty trained.  They know and understand that they are supposed to go outside to pee and poop.  Many dog articles that I have read will tell you that if your dogs still have accidents in the house, they are not house trained.  I beg to differ.  I know that my dogs are potty trained because they are “sneakers.”  They sneak around behind my back and potty when I am not around.  They only do this under 2 circumstances – in extremely cold weather or rainy conditions.  At all other times, they potty where they are supposed to.  Like clockwork, my dogs wake me up every night around 3:00 a.m. for their middle of the night potty session.  I groggily ascend two flights of stairs to the basement and let them outside in their dog pen.  When I climb back up the stairs, Chloe will hide from me and purposely lag behind.  I know she is trying to do a sneak poop.  I now have to say her name and make sure she climbs back up the stairs with me.  She knows it too!  When I say her name, Chloe comes running up the stairs and looks at me like I have no idea what she was trying to do.  Needless to say, since we have moved into the new house with white carpet (not my choice), I have discovered small spots of pee and pebbles of poop from these middle of the night sneakings.  I own two carpet cleaners and have a myriad of pet cleaning soaps – none of which take out nasty urine stains.  Once again, I have gone to the Internet in search of a cure and believe it or not, I finally found it!  Thanks to my research, I have discovered the trick for removing nasty pet stains from your carpet and I have done many tests since my carpet is white.  Here goes:

  • The three ingredients needed are Hydrogen Peroxide, white vinegar and baking soda.
  • I only use baking soda if the stain is dry.
  • Saturate the area with the peroxide.  I mean saturate!  Do not blot it up.
  • Pour vinegar over the peroxide.  The peroxide will take out the color and the vinegar removes the smell.
  • If the stain is dry, you can also pour over some baking soda.
  • Cover the area with a small towel so that no-one steps in it.
  • When the area dries, the stain will completely disappear.
  • If the stain is dry, you may need to repeat a few times.
  • Also, do not pour the vinegar on first.  You must apply the peroxide first.

I hope this works for you.  I have found this remedy on more than one occasion. Simply put, this is a great solution to a really nasty problem! Image

Leave a Reply

